Today in Pencil History

images-4

I find it fascinating to read little blurbs written about “what happened on (insert day) back in (insert year).”  Today’s blurb in the New York Times caught my eye.

On March 30, 1858, Hymen Lipman of Philadelphia patented the pencil-and-eraser. Although his first name raises some eyebrows, Hymen created some controversy for other reasons.

Evidently, there was some debate back then about this being a true invention. Hymen’s invention was all about putting an eraser on top of the pencil. He was en-route to make a lot of money, but the Supreme Court declared the patent invalid 17 years later.  The reason: the pencil and eraser had already been around–and it wasn’t considered an “invention” to marry the two together.

Another pencil-related and interesting tidbit: before erasers were used, starting in 1770, soft bread was the way to rid papers of those silly mistakes.  Soft bread!  I wonder today if the bread would erase better if it’s gluten-free.

I’m still a big fan of the pencil.  There is nothing quite like the smell and feel of a freshly sharpened pencil.  Thanks, Hymen.  I count it as a cool invention in my book.

sol

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Today in Pencil History

  1. Who would have thought that the simple pencil had such a contentious history? I refuse to write with a dull point, therefore, I find a mechanical pencil is preferred, always a sharp point ready to pop out. Of course, the way to advance the lead should be where you hold the pencil, not at the top (that’s inconvenient). Goodness, I didn’t know I had just pencil issues! Got to feel sorry for a dude named Hymen. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your choice of the Dixon-Ticonderoga #2 HB look-alike pencil clip art is perfect. There is no better pencil in the world, in my opinion.

    And your “Although his first name raises some eyebrows, Hymen created some controversy for other reasons.” sentence is perfect, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment