Evolution

e•volve
ēˈvälv/
verb
  1. develop gradually, especially from a simple to a more complex form.

    This is the word on my mind today…and the more I think about the verb, the more I feel it’s value in relation to a growth mindset.  Aren’t we always evolving in our learning and understanding of life?
    Now, before you think I’m going to go off rolling in the deep here, I want to suggest how some questions using this one word can have such an  impact on our students:
    *How did you evolve today as a reader/writer/scientist/mathematician/artist/athlete/social engineer/musician?
    *How are you planning to evolve in your learning as a result of  __________________?
    *What has evolved in your understanding since the last time we met?
    As teachers, we are constantly evolving in our practice.  We practice teaching, just like doctors practice medicine.  We grow, we evolve.  I want to always show students how I’m evolving.  I hope this one little word will become part of their everyday vocabulary as they learn the importance of having a growth mindset.
2 thoughts on “Evolution

Leave a Reply

