Weekend Chronology

Saturday, March 28th, 6:05 p.m.:

The list gets reviewed:

Lawn mowed? Check.

Flower beds cleaned up? Check.

Bushes trimmed? Check.

Dinner? Let’s order take out!

6:34 p.m.:

Thanks for calling. Will this be for delivery or takeout?

Takeout please.

Go ahead when you’re ready.

I’d like one yellow curry noodle with chicken and white rice.

Mild, medium, or hot?

Medium please, and can you add some extra vegetables?

Sure. 1 dollar more. 10 minutes.  Your order will be ready in 10 minutes.

6:42 p.m.:

In car, loving the warm evening with the windows down and the smells of fresh cut grass and blooming trees tickling our noses.

6:50 p.m.

Pick up order and head back home, the Thai food teasing our taste buds.

7:01 p.m.:

First bite:  mmm.

Second bite:  Is this really medium?

Third bite:  Lips on fire.  Tongue has lost its ability to discern flavor.

Fourth bite:  Hiccups ensue. Water is poured.

7:22 p.m.:

I’m done.  “You can have the rest of mine.” I grab the box of Cheerios.  At least one of us is satiated.

Sunday, March 29th, 7:42 a.m.:

Tummy Thai.

I’ll say no more.

One thought on “Weekend Chronology

  1. Oh no! I have to admit that I have never knowingly had Thai food, and this is part of the reason. Until I know someone who eats a lot of Thai food and they can guarantee me that what I’m ordering is “American mild” I am too afraid of Tummy Thai. I hope everything is better by now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

