Sharp Shears

Today I was fortunate enough to witness 17 kindergarteners learn how to craft an ending to their narratives in writing workshop. Under the excitement and wise guidance of their teacher, the budding writers were asked to offer some suggestions for an ending to Miss F.’s narrative.

The gist: having a mishap with her garden scissors one hot summer day last year.

Miss F. narrated the sequence of events to her students, telling bit by bit how her sharp shears slipped out of her hand and pierced her left foot–landing her in the doctor’s office for some stitches. It was here, after the stitches, where she stopped and was stumped on an ending. She thoughtfully asked her students for any ideas to capture the emotion she was feeling. “One way writers end a narrative is with an emotion.”

The kindergarten writers chatted with one another.  Miss F. inquired, “well, what do you think? Who can offer me a suggestion?”

Isabelle: “How about you write ‘I was sad. Very sad’.”

Carson:  “It hurt really bad.”

Miss F.: “Okay, you’ve got me thinking…anyone else?”

Elijah, in the back, in a confident kindergarten voice:  “I’ve got the perfect ending for your narrative, Miss F.”  “How about you end it like this:  I hate my life.

Chuckles erupted in the room.

This is living a writer’s life in kindergarten.

